Favorite Photos of 2011 (part 1)


To put it lightly, I took a lot of photos this year. Some were good, some were okay, and others were laughably awful. But no matter what the outcome, each image has taught me something- whether it’s how to improve, or keep making the consistently interesting photos.

2011 was a year of exploration where photography is concerned. I expect this year to be more about experimentation. There’s a drive for me to push the boundaries a bit, and  actually start photographing people that aren’t just on a stage (gasp!). I would also like to be involved in more art exhibits in 2012, with both photography and painting as mediums. Hopefully more fun and amusing moments will be ahead!

Here are several of my shots from 2011 that I consider my favorites. Each has a story or emotion that I connect it with. They are not in any particular order. Clicking on the images will direct you to the larger and higher quality version of the photo on Flickr. Let me know what you think!

1. Golden Gate Bridge

During Christmas break I joined the family for a trip to Northern California, and most of the vacation time was spent in San Francisco. This picture of the bridge reminds of the beautiful views from the harbor and Marin Headlands.

Lately I have been obsessed with capturing unique angles and perspectives, and this is (in my opinion) one of the best this year. The bridge’s bright orange color and the perfectly blue sky really makes the photo pop.

2. Modern Trees

This photo was taken in the “backyard” of the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth. I was there to volunteer for the local independent radio station KXT 91.7, but because they didn’t need help, I ended up sitting on a hill watching local bands play (including my buddies in Novaak) by a reflecting pool at sunset. Not a bad way to end a day! I have a few cameras with me, so no one was safe from my obsessive hobby.

3. Sleigh Bells @ La Zona Rosa, Austin

Even though I had just seen CSS and Sleigh Bells perform in Dallas, I drove out to Austin after CSS’ lead singer Lovefoxxx kindly gave me a photo pass for the show. The crowd was crazy, but it was worth enduring stinky beer sloshed on me to get some great photos.

Sleigh Bells are difficult to shoot since there’s often strobe lights in use, and they’re not ones to play staring at their feet. Thankfully for me, that made for some interesting shots. This one in particular is a favorite of mine because of vocalist Alexis Krauss’ expression and her interaction with the crowd (she even stage dived!).

Click here for all of the images from the show in Austin.

4. Up We Go

This one is quite simple, but I think that’s what makes it so effective. Black and white allows for striking images, and the contrast of the blind’s shadow with the incoming light came together perfectly. You never know when something as simple as a few windows can produce an interesting photo.

5. What a Tangled Web It Weaves

Depth of field is a technique that I’ve always enjoyed. When I saw a spider’s web outside, I knew that the perfect moment was there. I hurriedly grabbed a spray bottle and lightly misted the web,  and then set the camera to flash. The result is a sparkling web and a not too happy spider (but don’t worry, I didn’t destroy the web). Another photo of this web was featured in December at the Fort Worth Community Arts Center.

(Continue to part 2)

 

Shop Amazon’s Camera, Photo

2 thoughts on “Favorite Photos of 2011 (part 1)

Leave a comment